## State of New York

Supreme Court, Appellate Division Third Judicial Department Committee on Professional Standards 40 Steuben Street, Suite 502 Albany, NY 12207-2109

Monica A. Duffy Chairperson

Third District

John R. Casey Albany

John Ferrara Monticello

William J. Keniry Albany

Edward R. Marinstein Troy

> Lisa M. Mills Valatie

John G. Rusk Kingston

Akosua Yeboah Albany

Fourth District

James W. Bendall

Schenectady
William E. Lorman

Amsterdam

Michael D. McCormick
Keeseville

Carol B. Merchant Glens Falls

> John F. Niles Plattsburgh

Richard D. Wickerham Schenectady

Sixth District

Dirk A. Galbraith Ithaca

Hany M. Ghaleb Cooperstown

David S. Hartnett Cortland

Samantha M. Holbrook Sherburne

> Alan J. Pope Binghamton

Ransom P. Reynolds

Michael G. St. Leger Oneida http://www.nycourts.gov/ad3/cops



CONFIDENTIAL

(518) 285-8350 FAX (518) 474-0389 ad3cops@nycourts.gov Peter M. Torncello Chief Attorney

Michael G. Gaynor Deputy Chief Attorney

Michael K. Creaser Steven D. Zayas Jevon L. Garrett Elizabeth M. Devane Staff Attorneys

Joseph L. Legnard Matthew C. Devane Investigators

George Sassower 10 Stewart Place

June 25, 2012

White Plains, NY 10603-3856

Dear Mr. Sassower:

This will acknowledge receipt of your correspondence received May 29, 2012 concerning the professional conduct of attorneys.

Please be advised the function of this Committee is to investigate allegations of professional misconduct on the part of attorneys.

After reviewing your submission it appears that your grievance fails to state a complaint of professional misconduct.

Accordingly, this office declines to commence an investigation on this matter at this time.

Very truly yours

Peter M. Torncello Chief Attorney PMT/cma