UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT United States Courthouse 40 Foley Square - Room 1702 New York, N.Y. 10007

GEORGE LANGE III Clerk

March 18, 1998

Ms. Doris L. Sassower 283 Soundview Avenue White Plains, N.Y. 10606

RE: Judicial Conduct Complaint

Dear Ms. Sassower:

I have been asked by Administrative Attorney Beth Meador to supply you with the following information that was requested on your behalf by your *paralegal* assistant Elena Ruth Sassower:

1. the identity of the judges on the Judicial Council for the Second Circuit...; The judges who will be considering petitions for review of Chief Judge orders dismissing judicial conduct complaints in 1998 are as follows; (the four member panel for the period of January 1 - April 30 are denoted by an asterisk after their names):

Hon. Amalya L. Kearse, CJ

Hon. John M. Walker, Jr., CJ

Hon. Joseph M. McLaughlin, CJ *

Hon. Dennis Jacobs, CJ

Hon. Pierre N. Leval, CJ

Hon. Guido Calabresi, CJ *

Hon. Thomas P. Griesa, ChfJ, SDNY *

Hon. Thomas J. McAvoy, ChfJ, NDNY *

Hon. Charles P. Sifton, ChfJ, EDNY

Hon. J. Garvan Murtha, ChfJ, VT

Hon. Alfred V. Covello, DJ, CT

Hon. David G. Larimer, ChfJ, WDNY

2. a copy of the Second Circuit's most recent Rules Governing Complaints...; Enclosed herewith.

Sincerely,

George Lange III, Clerk

By:

Bernard F. Madsen Jr.

Deputy Clerk

Enclosures