State of New York Commission on Judicial Nomination 1133 Avenue of the Americas New York, New York 10036-6710 (212) 336-2685 FAX (212) 336-2222 <u>spyounger@pbwt.com</u> www.nysegov.com/cjn

John F. O'Mara, Chair Frederick K. Brewington Edward F. Cox Ruth Friendly Janet M. Kassar Elena H. Kiam Gerald B. Lefcourt Alan Mansfield E. Leo Milonas Margaret S. Morton Richard P. Nathan David M. Schwartz

Stephen P. Younger, Counsel John J. Halloran, Jr., Deputy Counsel Norman W. Kee, Assistant Counsel Stuart A. Summit, Senior Counsel

January 16, 2009

BY FAX AND U.S. MAIL

Center for Judicial Accountability P.O. Box 3002 Southampton, New York 11969

Attn: Elena Ruth Sassower, Director

Re: Public Access Rights Pursuant to Judiciary Law § 63.3

Dear Ms. Sassower:

I write on behalf of Stephen P. Younger, in response to your above-titled request of December 1, 2008. Pursuant to that request, enclosed please find:

- A copy of the December 1, 2008 written report from the Commission on Judicial Nomination to Governor Paterson.
- A copy of the December 17, 2008 letter from the Commission to Governor Paterson, containing expanded descriptions of the nominees contained in the Commission's December 1, 2008 written report.
- A copy of the Commission's most recent brochure.
- A blank copy of the application provided by the Commission to candidates for the most recent vacancy on the Court of Appeals.

For purposes of your future inquiries, I would encourage you to visit the Commission's newly-launched website, which is located at http://www.nysegov.com/cjn.

Sincerely yours,

ahar

Joseph M. Abraham