From: Sent:	Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) <elena@judgewatch.org> Wednesday, March 1, 2023 10:24 AM</elena@judgewatch.org>
То:	'foil@nysenate.gov'; 'whylandfm@nyassembly.gov'
Subject:	FOIL/Records Request: the Members & Chairs of the Senate & Assembly Joint Legislative Commissions of Legislative Law Articles 5, 5-A, and 5-B

TO: Senate Records Access Officer/Secretary of the Senate Alejandra Paulino, Esq. Assembly Records Access Officer Fern Whyland

<u>Legislative Law Article 5-A</u> lists 14 legislative commissions, <u>Legislative Law Article 5-B</u> lists a further legislative commission – the Administrative Regulations Review Commission – and <u>Legislative Law Article 5</u> (§80) establishes the Legislative Ethics Commission.

The <u>Senate's webpage for "Senators and Committees"</u> identifies only two of these "Legislative Commissions":

(1) the <u>Legislative Commission on Administrative Regulations Review</u>, chaired by Senator Felder, with no additional members;

(2) the <u>Legislative Commission on Rural Resources</u>, chaired by Senator May, with two additional members: Senators Helming and Breslin – and, on a <u>January 12, 2023</u> webpage, referencing Assemblyman Santabarbara as its Assembly chair.

The <u>Assembly's webpage for "Committees & More</u>" identifies the following ten:

- (1) the <u>Legislative Commission on Administrative Regulations Review</u>, chaired by Assemblyman Stern, with one additional member: Assemblyman Goodell.
- (2) the <u>Legislative Commission on Government Administration</u>, chaired by Assemblyman Carroll, with two additional members: Assemblymen Brabenec and DiPietro;
- (3) the <u>Legislative Commission on Rural Resources</u>, chaired by Assemblyman Santabarbara, with two additional members: Assemblyman Palmesano and Assemblywoman Woerner;
- (4) the <u>Legislative Commission on Solid Waste Management</u>, chaired by Assemblywoman Hyndman, with two additional members: Assemblymen Gallahan and Tannousis;
- (5) the <u>Legislative Commission on Skills Development and Career Education</u>, chaired by Assemblyman Conrad, with two additional members: Assemblymen Blankenbush and Durso;
- (6) the <u>Legislative Commission on State-Local Relations</u>, chaired by Assemblyman Epstein, with no additional members;
- (7) the <u>Legislative Commission on Toxic Substances and Hazardous Wastes</u>, with no chair, but two members: Assemblymen Morinello and Tannousis;

- (8) the <u>Legislative Commission on Future of the Long Island Power Authority</u>, co-chaired by Assemblyman Thiele and Senator Thomas, and four additional members: Assemblyman Smith, Assemblywoman Solages, and Senators Gaughran and Sanders;
- (9) the <u>Legislative Commission on Legislative Ethics</u>, chaired by Assemblywoman Simon, with no additional members;
- (10)the <u>Legislative Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment</u>, chaired by Assemblyman Zebrowski, with one additional member: Assemblyman Palmesano.

Pursuant to <u>Senate Rule XIV ["Freedom of Information"]</u> and <u>Assembly Rules VIII ["Public Access</u> to <u>Records"</u>], this is to request records reflecting the appointment of the members and chairs of the 14 <u>Legislative Law Article 5-A commissions</u>, the <u>Legislative Law Article 5-B</u> Administrative Regulations Review Commission, and the <u>Legislative Law Article 5</u> (§80) Legislative Ethics Commission, **consistent with those statutory provisions**.

Thank you.

Elena Sassower, Director Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) <u>www.judgewatch.org</u> 914-421-1200 <u>elena@judgewatch.org</u>